How to learn to hear and understand the Russian language.

Are you familiar with the situation when you're watching a movie in a foreign language, but do not understand what actors say? Despite all the hours you spent with Russian textbooks, Russian speech of an announcer of the news sounds to you like birds' singing and you are desperately trying to take a good look at the speaker's gestures and pictures, hoping to somehow capture an essence?

Do not worry, you're not alone. But what do you need to begin to understand a foreign language as your native one?

Inherently, an understanding of native speech sounds by children is a mechanism of information recognition. For example, one man, recalling his childhood, said that the words of the song "The Internationale": "rise up the human race," he understood as "a cart of cookies to the human race" and did not doubt it for a long time. A little girl without any hesitation interpreted a famous saying "do not cry Cossack, you will become an Ataman" as "do not cry a goat, or you will become a mother". In both cases, unfamiliar words "rise up" and "ataman" were replaced by children with already existed in their minds similar and clear soundscapes.

In 2004, Neil Bauman in his article «Hearing Health» [1] writes about an interpretation by brains the received from the outside information and created on its basis sound illusion. Brains, using input information, find in the nerve center similar musical memories and offer them as the interpretation of the external senses.

Let's ask a question, how many times it is necessary to hear a word, to form its stable audio perception. It is known that vocabulary of Russian children who start schooling consists of 4000 words [2]. An average number of words that is spoken by a woman per day is 16000 [3]. Let's suppose, that a child who is near his mother till his seven years, hears a half of these words. So during seven years prior to the beginning of school, he often hears the sound of each of the words known to him (about 5000 times).

A new language, which is being learnt, in terms of formation of zones of its perception in brains also requires multiple hearing of foreign words for their learning. For example, the dialogue "Zoo" on the site [4] sounds during 20 seconds. Therefore, to obtain a stable effect of habituation to the sound of Russian words in this dialogue, the learner will need 14 days if he diligently listens to the record for two hours daily. As a result of this work for the words of the dialogue a zone of Russian speech perception will be created in brains, that in its stability will be comparable to the center of native speech perception formed within childhood.

Thus, we find an answer to the question how to learn to hear and understand foreign language - listen a lot and often, try not to be distracted by pictures (it is better to use for this goal podcasts and dialogues [5]), get used to it, be patient and give your brains time for foreign speech to come in and find its place. And soon speech that you hear will become perceptible and your brains will recognize it stably and correctly. 


  1. Bauman N. Hearing Health. 2004. Available at

You can find Russian language schools and teachers:

Translation (ru-en)
Only registered users can use this function

Lidia Savvina

Как научиться слышать и понимать русскую речь.

Знакома ли Вам ситуация - Вы смотрите фильм на иностранном языке, но не понимаете о чём говорят актёры? Несмотря на все часы, которые Вы провели за учебниками русского языка, русская речь диктора в новостях звучит для Вас как пение птиц и Вы отчаянно пытаетесь всматриваться в жесты диктора и картинки, надеясь хоть как-нибудь ухватить суть?

Не переживайте, Вы в этом не одиноки. Что же нужно, чтобы начать понимать иностранную речь как свою?

В основе понимания звуков родной речи детьми лежит определённый механизм распознавания информации. Например, один мужчина, вспоминая свои детские годы, рассказывал, что слова песни «Интернационал»: «воспрянет род людской» понимал как «воз пряников в род людской» и никаких сомнений в этом долгое время не испытывал. Маленькая девочка без каких-либо колебаний известную пословицу «не плачь казак, атаманом будешь» трактовала как «не плачь коза, а то мамой будешь». В обоих случаях незнакомые слова «воспрянет» и «атаман» были заменены детьми на уже существовавшие в их умах похожие и понятные звуковые образы.

В 2004 г Нейл Бауман в своей статье «Hearing Health» [1] пишет об интерпретации мозгом получаемой извне информации и создаваемой на её основе звуковой иллюзии. Мозг, пользуясь входной информацией находит в нервном центре похожие музыкальные воспоминания и предлагает их в качестве интерпретации полученным извне ощущениям.

Зададимся вопросом о том, сколько раз надо услышать слово, чтобы сформировать его устойчивое восприятие на слух. Известно, что словарный запас русских детей, начинающих школьное обучение, составляет 4000 слов [2]. Среднее количество слов, которое говорит женщина в день 16000 [3]. Предположим, что ребёнок, который находится до семи лет рядом с матерью, слышит половину из этих слов. Значит за семь лет, предшествующих началу обучения в школе, он многократно прослушает звучание каждого из известных ему слов (примерно 5000 раз).

Новый изучаемый язык с точки зрения формирования зон его восприятия в мозге также требует многократных прослушиваний иностранных слов для их усвоения. К примеру, диалог «Зоопарк» на сайте www.ruspeach.com/ [4] звучит 20 секунд. Поэтому, чтобы получить устойчивый эффект привыкания к звучанию русских слов в этом диалоге, обучающемуся потребуется 14 дней, если прилежно слушать запись по два часа ежедневно. В результате такой работы в мозге для слов диалога будет создана зона восприятия русской речи, которая по своей устойчивости станет сравнима с центром восприятия родной речи, формируемой за детские годы. 

Таким образом, мы находим ответ на вопрос как научиться слышать и понимать иностранную речь - слушайте много и часто, старайтесь, чтобы видеоряд не отвлекал Вас (для этого лучше подойдут подкасты и диалоги [5]), привыкайте, проявите терпение и дайте своему мозгу время, чтобы иностранная речь вошла в него и нашла своё место. И в скором времени слышимая Вами речь станет различима и будет устойчиво и правильно распознаваться мозгом. 

Ссылки:

  1. Bauman N. Hearing Health. 2004. Available at http://www.hearinglosshelp.com/articles/mes.htm
  2. http://spo.1september.ru/article.php?ID=200501913
  3. http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/story?id=3348076
  4. http://www.ruspeach.com/dialogues/all_dialogues/zoopark/
  5. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film/10388099/Can-you-learn-a-language-from-watching-foreign-film...

Вы можете найти школы Русского языка и учителей:


Перевод
Перевод (ru-en)
Только зарегистрированные пользователи могут пользоваться этой функцией