Traditional Russian Gestures

Who would think about it, but we perceive 80% of surrounding information with the help of our eyes, and only 20% with the help of ears. When transmitting information fr om one person to the other, gestures are certainly used in conversation. And the point is not about the deaf. Speech becomes lively, emotional and clear with the help of gestures.

Every nation and nationality has its own significant gestures. So do Russians. Let's recollect distinctive Russian gestures and find out what they mean.

"Кукиш с маслом" /Fat Lot/ and Other Gestures

What does a Russian man usually do when inviting someone to have a drink? What gesture do we show to a person we are talking to when pointing out that our neighbor, colleague or just a friend took a drop? That's right - we snap on our throat. Usually we do it with the help of index or middle finger.

Such gesture is an obvious hint to drink vodka or something stronger together or to point to someone who already did it, to be on a bender or to tank up, something exaclty of the kind.

Where did this strange Russian gesture come from? It is told that Peter the First, being in good mood, decided to award some artisan for his talent and skills. Having invited him, Peter asked, what would he like to get as an award. The artisan asked for the special privilege without even thinking for while - to drink vodka in any tavern absolutely free of charge. At that time Peter had already monopolized all distilled beverages in Russia.

The artisan was scratched an itch. Special stigma put by that man was the permit. Entering a tavern, he pointed to that "document" with the help of familiar gesture - snap on the throat. Thus this gesture has become an unchangeable attribute of heating drink and their consumers.

Do you remember how we count on fingers? We bend our fingers of an opened palm in sequence, starting fr om the little one. And do you know that not everybody does it this way? For instance, exquisite Frencmen act vice versa. Counting on fingers, they unbend their fingers. Maybe, in virtue of Russian character, we bend our fingers while counting to get a fist.

What do we usually do while saying, "А мне на все плевать!" /"I couldn't care less!"/ That's right! We flourish our arm! This specific gesture is distinctive for Russians. There is even an expression "на все махнуть рукой" /to kiss good-bye/. It is not even necesarry to to raise and put down one's hand.

It is interesting, but Frenchmen wave their hands backward in the similar situation, demonstrating that they leave a problem or situation behind. Russian in this case pull a problem down, getting rid of load or burden.

What do we do when we want to show that a person is lacking in mind? That's right! We spin index finger near the temple, emphasizing that a person has thoughtless brains. Like: pit your wits, maybe that would start working!

How does Russian calls for autostop? What what signals do we usually make with the help of our hand? Traditionally, we put it up. Do you remember school lessons or party conferences? That's how we drive one's attention and want to be noticed!

It is interesting, but Frenchmen do everything vice versa. Wishing to flag down a passing car, they put a hand down, kind of pointing to a driver to stop at the exact place.

Let's get back to alcohol. Imagine that you are visiting someone. You are offered to have a drink. You ask a host to pour just a little. What gesture is unwillingly done with your hand? That's right! Thumb and index finger are brought together! Other fingers remain fisted at that. Moreover, this gesture is used for describing not only visible things, but we also use it in relation to abstract notions. «У меня времени осталось чуть-чуть!» /I've got just a little time left/, and show it with the help of gesture.

When Russian express their feelings, they either involuntary put their hands on a heart, thereby expressing their sincerity, or put both hands up, showing that they agree with an interlocutor or give in discussion.

What do we do when we are fed up? We put an opened down palm to chin or throat, like saying, «Хватит, больше не надо» /Chuck it in, no more/.

Arms at side. This is one more interesting gesture with indigenously Russian roots. Try to recollect pioneers at celebratory assembly or soldiers on a hardstand in front of commanding officer. Wh ere did the gesture «Руки по швам» /arms at side/ come from? Russian reformer Peter the First started reorganization of his army. The expression «стоять во фронте» /to stay in the forefront/ arised exactly at that time. A soldier with his arms at side has become the symbol of subjection and obedience.

And for the finale. Remember the posters and picters of revolutionaries after the rise to power in 1917. A full length peasant woman or working man defiantly show the figure фигу /the bird/ to all bourgeois and capitalistic doggery.

Фига or кукиш /the bird or nonentity/ is traditionally Russian gesture! A person showing the bird (a clinched fist with shoved thumb between index and middle fingers) expresses extreme discontent, denial or even spite.

It may be the most energetic but the most vulgar gesture as well, inasmuch as it traces its roots to ancient times, and denotes male genital organs, reminding us the process of coupling of a man and a woman. A person, who decided to show this gesture, either feels disdain or threatens us evidenly.

You can find Russian language schools and teachers:

Translation (ru-en)
Only registered users can use this function

Преподаватели и школы сейчас в Skype



Традиционные русские жесты

Кто бы мог подумать, но 80% окружающей нас информации мы воспринимаем именно глазами, и лишь 20% ушами. Когда происходит передача информации от одного человека к другому, в разговоре обязательно используют жесты. И речь вовсе не о глухих. С помощью жестов речь становится живой, эмоциональной и понятной.

У каждого народа и национальности есть свои характерные жесты. Есть они и у русских. Давайте вспомним характерные русские жесты и узнаем, что они означают.

Кукиш с маслом и другие жесты

Что обычно делает русский человек, приглашая другого выпить? Какой жест мы показываем своему собеседнику, указывая, что наш сосед, коллега по работе или просто приятель, выпил алкоголь? Правильно – щелчок по горлу. Обычно мы это делаем указательным или средним пальцем.

Такой жест, явный намек - вместе выпить водочки или чего-то «погорячее». Или указать на того, кто уже это сделал. Заложить за «галстук или воротник», именно из этой оперы.

Откуда появился этот странный жест у русских? Рассказывают, что Петр Первый находясь в хорошем расположении духа, решил наградить какого-то мастерового за его талант и способности. Пригасив к себе, Петр спросил – «чего бы он хотел в качестве награды»? Мастеровой долго не думая попросил особой привилегии – пить водку в любом кабаке, причем абсолютно бесплатно. Петр уже тогда монополизировал всю ликероводочную продукцию в России.

Желание мастерового было удовлетворенно. Пропуском было особое клеймо на шее, которое поставил этот человек. Заходя в кабак, он указывал на этот «документ», знакомым нам жестом - щелчком по горлу. Так, этот жест стал неизменным атрибутом горячительным напитков и их потребителей.

Вспомните, как мы считаем на пальцах? Пальцы открытой ладони, мы постепенно загибаем, начиная с мизинца. А вы знаете, что так делают не все? Например, утонченные французы делают наоборот. Считая на пальцах, они их разгибают. Может в силу русского характера, мы сгибаем пальцы при счете, и получается кулак.

Что обычно делаем, когда говорим – «А мне на все плевать»! Правильно! Махаем рукой! Этот специфический жест есть только у русских. Есть даже выражение «на все махнуть рукой». При этом даже не обязательно поднимать и опускать руку.

Интересно, но французы, оказавшись в похожей ситуации, машут рукой назад. Показывая тем самым, что бросают проблему или ситуацию себе за спину. Русские в этом случае бросают проблему на землю, освобождая себя или свои руки от ноши или тяжести.

Что мы делаем, когда хотим показать, что человеку недостает ума? Правильно! Крутим указательным пальцем у виска. Тем самым подчеркивая, что у человека пустая голова. Мол, пошевели извилинами, может что-то заработает!

Как русский голосует автостопом? Какой знак рукой мы обычно подаем? Традиционно, поднимаем руку вверх. Помните школьные уроки или парт собрания. Так мы обращаем на себя внимание и желаем, чтобы нас заметили!

Интересно, но французы делают все наоборот. Желая остановить попутку, они опускают руку вниз. Показывая водителю, мол, остановись именно здесь.

Вернемся к алкоголю. Представьте что вы в гостях. Вам предлагают выпить. Вы просите хозяина налить в стакан чуть-чуть. Какой жесть непроизвольно делает рука? Правильно! Сближает большой и указательный палец! При этом остальные пальцы остаются зажатыми в кулак. Причем данный жест мы используем не только для описания видимых вещей, но и употребляем их к абстрактным понятиям. «У меня времени осталось чуть-чуть!» и показываем это жестом.

Когда русские выражают свои чувства они непроизвольно либо кладут руку на сердце, тем самым выражая свою искренность, либо поднимают обе руки вверх, показывая собеседнику, что соглашаются с его мнением, либо сдаются в дискуссии.

Что мы делаем, когда сыты по горло? Приставляем к подбородку или горлу открытую вниз ладонь. Как бы говоря – «Хватит, больше не надо».

Руки по швам. Еще один интересный жест с исконно русскими корнями. Вспомните пионеров на школьной линейке или солдатиков на плацу, перед начальником. Откуда появился жест «Руки по швам»? Русский реформатор Перт Первый начал реорганизацию своей армии. Выражение «стоять во фронте» появилось именно тогда. Солдат с вытянутыми руками по швам - стал символом подчинения и послушания.

И на последок. Вспомните плакаты и рисунки революционеров, после прихода к власти в 1917 году. Крестьянка или рабочий, в полный рост демонстративно показывают фигу всей буржуазной и капиталистической своре.

Фига или кукиш – традиционно русский жест! Человек, показывая нам фигу (сжатый кулак, а между указательным и средним пальцем просунут большой палец) выражает крайнюю степень недовольства, отрицания или даже злобы.

Пожалуй, это самый энергичный, но и самый вульгарный жест. Поскольку берет свое начало издревле и означает мужской половой орган, напоминая нам процесс совокупления мужчины с женщиной. Человек, решивший показ нам фигу, либо испытывает к нам презрение, либо явно угрожает.


Вы можете найти школы Русского языка и учителей:


Перевод
Перевод (ru-en)
Только зарегистрированные пользователи могут пользоваться этой функцией